Umm Sulaim's Thoughts

Thoughts Lead To Appreciation

I WAS ABDUCTED, FORCEFULLY CONVERTED TO ISLAM AND FORCEFULLY MARRIED

We are in the season of forcefully this and forcefully that, in relation to the rights of girls, women and family.

I thought to add my experiences to the database of the forcefullees – pardon my stretch of the English language!!!

ESE ORURU | Aisha Chuwas – Apologies

On a serious note, I too suffered tremendously at the hands of “abductors”.

I was a victim of child abuse, by the mean standards of many Nigerians, deceptive, biased and unscrupulous.

You see, I was abducted from my mother’s home.

My mother was away on a trip and the “abductors” took me.

On my mother’s return, my “abductors” informed her of my location.

What audacity!

The “abductors” made clear I can only be brought back to my family with my consent.

The “abductors” were British teachers and social workers.

That ought to qualify as abduction.

Never mind that.

For over 9 months from the time I was 15 years old until I was well over 16 years of age, I was kept hostage.

The “hostage-takers” refused to release me.

AlHamduliLlah for my “abductors”.

Kisses to the British government and the excellent child protection policy.

Never mind that.

Worse was to come, for just before I turned the age of 17, I was forcefully converted to Islam.

My parents were not informed beforehand, except after the fact – that I have become a Muslim.

Oh! How atrocious!

How could “they” do that to me?

I was young and vulnerable.

I had no say in anything, nor did my say count for anything.

My parents, my sole spokespersons, were not consulted, at all.

How could that have happened to me?

To add salt to injury, “they” forcefully changed my name to a Muslim name.

How awful!

How dare “they” alter the name given to me by my parents?

Did “they” bring me into this world?

That was insufficient, for “they” completely removed my family name from my name.

It was as if “they” wanted to efface my identity.

“They” sought to Islamise me.

What sort of name is Umm Sulaim Iman Taqwa?

Am I an Arab?

I am a true daughter of Ndi Igbo, but who would know that with that Arab name “they” forced on me?

I, of my own volition, converted to Islam in the United Kingdom.

In Britain, did I adopt my first name as Iman, after Iman the gorgeous Somali model and wife of David Bowie.

Shortly after, to disavow my family on account of their misbehaviours, I changed my name entirely.

Never mind that.

There was nothing “they” were not prepared to do to keep me in perpetual bondage.

I was forcefully married when I was 26 years of age.

Imagine all the sex!

My sweet joy came after eight months, as I escaped.

If not for that, just imagine all the years of sexual abuse and rape.

No one gave my parents my dowry nor did my parents consume the traditional drinks and assortment of demands.

Nothing at all. Who do “they” think “they” are marrying someone’s daughter without the father’s approval?

I did marry with my consent and chose to end the marriage.

Never mind that.

Oh yes, I was forced to do all the above, by me – I did the forcing.

Freewill is a concept alien to sectarian Nigerians.

All these talk of abductions, forced conversions and forced marriages also remind of my travel to Minna in 1999 in the company of a lover.

We departed Lagos for a vacation in Niger State.

I lived in Lagos State and my lover was based in the Niger State capital, Minna.

What if I decided to move to Minna, as my new residence?

By then, I was already a Muslim and have lived alone away from my family for seven years.

However, one can expect had I made the mistake of granting my family authority over every aspect of my movement, they too will cry foul that I was abducted and forcefully converted to Islam.

I was above the age of consent.

Still, that will not have prevented malicious persons, both Christians and Muslims, from depriving me of my constitutional rights.

I am now a fully grown old mama and still have to answer questions of whether my parents are aware I live in Sokoto.

Yes, the questioners include the agents of Nigeria Police Force ~NPF and Department Of State Services ~DSS/ SSS.

The very same security organisation shedding crocodile tears that 13 year-old girls must be reunited with parents threatened to bring my family to Sokoto.

One ordered me to return to my state of origin.

I am a 40 year-old mama!

– A bunch of hypocrites, whose true allegiance lay not in the Constitution but in popular opinions.

I await the security operatives sufficiently insane to invite any member of my family, for that day will be day of immense physical conflict.

To the police and SSS, and every citizen of my dear Nation who disregards the Constitution on the rights of women and girls:

Here are the fingers of my left hand in your face! Your mother!

~ * ~ * ~

[My dear guests, who relish my writings, feel free to Commission My Work]

2 comments on “I WAS ABDUCTED, FORCEFULLY CONVERTED TO ISLAM AND FORCEFULLY MARRIED

  1. Bint Islam
    April 15, 2016

    you got me biiiiig time – pardon my stretch of the English word too. lol

    As soon as it has to do with Islam, it becomes all wrong…

    I repeat after you

    ” To the police and SSS, and every citizen of my
    dear Nation who disregards the Constitution on
    the rights of women and girls:

    Here are the fingers of my left hand in your face!
    Your mother!”

    • Umm Sulaim
      April 15, 2016

      As soon as what has to do with Islam, it becomes all wrong?

      Do you have any evidence that I spontaneously engage in private conversations on social media?

      Besides, did you state Islam as your purpose of the private conversation?

      In any case, it is best we did not have that private discourse, as I have no tolerance for anyone who cannot comprehend basic English.

      The one and only,
      Umm Sulaim

Your Thoughts

Information

This entry was posted on March 16, 2016 by in Human Rights and tagged .

Copyright

© Umm Sulaim’s Thoughts 1439/ 2017. All rights reserved.

Love from Nigeria to the world.

Discussions And Concerns

Enjoy The Thoughts

