Umm Sulaim's Thoughts

Thoughts Lead To Appreciation

NATIONAL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER IN SOKOTO | Hausanisation Of Registration

Tuesday, September 8, 2015, for the second time in as many weeks, I was at the Sokoto office of the National Identity Management Commission ~NIMC to complete my registration.

The pre-registration I had done online via my Android smartphone.

The remainder was to capture my photograph and finger prints on the NIMC system.

For that, I arrived at the location shortly after 07:00 hours to meet a mammoth crowd!

The long queue of women was unexpected.

A number of women left shortly after my arrival.

As soon as I identified some women who speak English, I discovered the departure of the women was prompted by news that we were to return on Monday next week.

I needed to hear same from an official, so I waited as did other women, as the queue thinned and scattered.

The information was that the staff insisted they will attend to only those whose names were already on the list.

That meant everyone present has wasted our time going there.

The clock ticked, and I and my companions remained patient.

It was well past 08:00 hours when the staff asked the crowd to form a queue.

We did.

After an hour of standing, I began losing consciousness and squatted to reduce the sensation of loss of balance.

NATIONAL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER IN SOKOTO - Hausanisation Of Registration 3

The dizzy spell did not cease until much later that evening.

– An unnecessary trauma to endure to fulfil my civic duty.

One of the NIMC staff approached the queue, addressing the women in Hausa language.

It was my opportunity to find out what was happening.

I stood, went to him and called him.

He repeatedly ignored my calls even after a Hausa-Fulani woman drew his attention to me.

That is a brilliant example, if one is needed, of the educated class leading their people to perdition.

When he did turn to me, his words were:

I can not see your face. That is why I will not talk to you.


NATIONAL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER IN SOKOTO - Hausanisation Of Registration 1

NATIONAL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER IN SOKOTO - Hausanisation Of Registration 2

I hope NIMC management call their staff to order.

Another NIMC staff reluctantly provided the information I sought.

I was to go back to that office on Monday next week.

I later learnt that when NIMC was operational at the local government council secretariat, the staff made a point of derogating non-indigenes who went there.

While at the NIMC Sokoto Office, I did observe several non-Hausa-Fulani Christian women present wore a lose khimar (Muslim women head scarf).

Provided Nigerians continue to pretend to be Hausa-Fulani, the pressure will remain enormous for others to assimilate.
NATIONAL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER IN SOKOTO- Hausanisation Of Registration

I quietly and eagerly await January 9th, 2016, the deadline for obtaining a National Identification Number ~NIN.

That is the day the Commission plan to compel Nigerians to produce NIN in every process where identification is mandatory.

When I am obstructed from conducting my legal rights, the NIMC will have the opportunity to inform citizens what law stipulates torment, ethnic discrimination and religious intolerance as a condition of citizenship.

Your Thoughts

Information

This entry was posted on September 9, 2015 by in Human Rights and tagged .

Copyright

© Umm Sulaim’s Thoughts 1438/ 2017. All rights reserved.

Express Your Thoughts

Discussions And Concerns

Enjoy The Thoughts

