Umm Sulaim's Thoughts

Thoughts Lead To Appreciation

Nigeria North: AHEAD OF 2015 ELECTIONS 3

Early this morning my son explained he did not attend school today as there is a statewide public holiday.

Public holiday? Why?

What is happening today? I curiously sought more, scanning my memory for notable dates.

Well, school children in Sokoto are on vacation as today comes to town Muhammadu Buhari, the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress ~APC.

I was already aware of that.

On further inquiry, I discovered the actual reason for the stay-at-home order: political violence.

Yes, Sokoto the so-called peaceful environment suspends all forms of pretext at peace during elections.

Election is validity for unrestricted anarchy.

In order to protect children and young persons, the Sokoto State government cancelled academic activities in primary and secondary schools.

In the previous couple of elections in 2007 and 2011, school life was postponed for a month.

That is the extent of the insecurity.

Already within these past few days, at least two persons have died as a result of election violence.

The police have paraded arms confiscated from political campaigners.

News of the holiday raised my concern as I planned to go out today.

Well, I resolved to go ahead with it.

One’s life should not be defined by fear.

I am now home.

For the brief moments while I was out, I observed increased police presence at strategic locations.

After every minute ride, there was a police vehicle and some officers, some clamping tear gas guns and one holding a beige-coloured box.

I peered to get more details.

– Certainly not a lunch box!!!

I felt safe with the presence of police officers.

The Nigeria Police Force did not take for granted the aggressive nature of a vast majority of the electorate.

Plus the route from the airport to campaign grounds the APC convoy will trail coincides with my area of movement.

That adds value to police protection.

Simultaneously, I was a little uncomfortable with so many police officers on the streets, especially with my dressing and experiences with law enforcement agencies.

They should not shoot me, I silently hoped.

I did conduct my legal rights without being stopped by the police merely over my mode of dress.

– Appreciations to Sokoto Command of Nigeria Police Force.

Thank you for respecting my right to be different.

Your Thoughts

Information

This entry was posted on January 22, 2015 by in Nigeria and tagged .

Copyright

© Umm Sulaim’s Thoughts 1439/ 2017. All rights reserved.

Love from Nigeria to the world.

Discussions And Concerns

Enjoy The Thoughts

