Umm Sulaim's Thoughts

Thoughts Lead To Appreciation

15 DAYS A PRISONER | Assault

Date: Friday August 15, 2014

Time: Around 11:09 hours

Sirajo Aliyu my neighbour locked the gate. He always does that whenever he does not want to be disturbed by his own friends.

However, when he wants to annoy me, he keeps the gate wide open even when I shut it, without locking it.

I went to dispose off some waste and opened the gate.

As soon as I re-entered the premises, Sirajo rushed out of his apartment and locked the gate again.

Aware that I was expecting visitors, I came out to re-open the gate and knowing that Sirajo is very violent, as he has previously attacked me twice, I had a knife under my Hijab to defend myself against violence.

As soon as Sirajo saw me, he obstructed my path and charged that he will beat me if I open the door.

He said I was very stupid. I responded that he too was very stupid.

He slapped me. Only at that point did I bring out the knife to defend myself against assault from him.

He continued to hit me while we struggled over the knife. I did my best to defend myself.

He managed to remove the knife from my hand and passed it to his girlfriend Halimah, also known as Shadiyyah.

As we struggled with each other, I slipped and fell.

Sirajo pinned me to the ground, still slapping and punching me.

Although he held my hands in a cuff, I resisted some of his attacks using my arm and elbow.

He leaned over me with his right knee on my left ribs and his left knee on my right knee.

He twisted my left wrist in order to break it. I resisted and struggled to get my hand back in a fairly comfortable position.

He did the same with my right arm and shoulder and again I resisted frightened of having my arm dislocated.

He swore that everyone will see me that day without my Hijab and he pulled off my Hijab and Niqab.

Shadiyyah went out to call our neighbours who pleaded with Sirajo to let go of me.

Sirajo refused insisting he must pin me to the ground until the police arrive. He sent our neighbours to call the police.

Meanwhile, Sirajo head butted me in the nose*, injuring my nose.

Throughout the period I was on the ground, I repeatedly derided him: You are fighting a woman and sweating as a pig.

Two police women arrived and ordered Sirajo to release me.

* My statement at the police station was that he punched me in the nose. Later at home, I remembered it was a head butt.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~ Please note my full official name is Umm Sulaim Iman Taqwa and my ethnicity is Igbo not Yoruba. ~

Removing my Hijab is a feat for Sirajo and his people, for they since constantly boast of it.

My imprisonment in Sokoto State Prison was over my Niqab, this time the contempt over the Hijab itself is clear.

Yes, Hausa-Fulani women wear the Hijab, but only when they so choose.

That is, a woman should be in Hijab only to misrepresent self as respectable.

She, of course, plays her role in illicit sexual relations.

Women of other ethnicities who do not comply with this pretence risk having their Hijab forcibly removed as a form of disgrace.

Hausa-Fulanis are known for flogging and assaulting non-Hausa-Fulani women who reject sexual advances.

Such women are highly likely to be raped.

AlHamduliLlah I was not raped that morning. The threat remains.

2 comments on “15 DAYS A PRISONER | Assault

  1. abu aishat
    October 8, 2014

    Why did you have to go to this extent with a man? You end up unveiling yourself to your neighbors, in the court and in the prison to men and women alike.
    You forgot that even fellow niqab women can not see your face in private but now in public.
    You have to retrace your steps, apologize when necessary and make corrections.

    • Umm Sulaim
      October 8, 2014

      Abu Aishat,

      Go to what extent?

      What in the Sharee’ah, the Constitution or even common sense gives any man the right to bully a woman?

      In your mentality, I unveiled myself. I expect you are among creatures who blame a raped woman for the rape.

      Apologise to whom and for what? Are you normal?

      AlHamduliLlah you say that publicly. That is the precise intent of my writings – to convey to the world the psychosis in Muslim communities.

      The one and only,
      Umm Sulaim

Your Thoughts

Copyright

© Umm Sulaim’s Thoughts 1438/ 2017. All rights reserved.

Express Your Thoughts

Discussions And Concerns

Donations

**Support my writings on religious freedom, women’s liberty and children’s rights by donating on PayPal to sulaim[dot]umm[at]gmail[dot]com**

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Enjoy The Thoughts

