Umm Sulaim's Thoughts

Thoughts Lead To Appreciation

INDEPENDENT NIGERIA FOR FREE CHILDREN

October 1st is a memorable day of independence.

As we exalt our collective experiences as citizens of this great nation, let us consider the lesser aged – children.

In the transformation of Nigeria over the decades since independence, I look back to some spectacular ecstasies of my own childhood.

For some time, during festivities my mum would take us to Kingsway in Enugu.

The sheer excitement is indescribable.

On sighting Father Christmas for the first time, I was a little frightened and curious, not by the whiteness of his skin but by his garment and beard.

Who is this?

No, I did not embarrass Santa Claus with my thoughts!!!!

He carried me on his thigh and awarded me some gifts.

My visits to Kingsway accorded me my first children’s novel.

It was a hardback full of dazzling colours.

I also received an umbrella, perfectly sized for children.

It was well decorated, with green as the dominant colour.

After a while, my umbrella disappeared. That was painful.

I missed that umbrella, with which I strutted and posed!!!!

30 years later, we need to continue to endow our children with magnificent experiences that do not play on their innocence.

Our children need a free spirit, an explorer’s intelligence and the truth as a foundation for their future.

Allah bless our children.

Allah protect Nigeria’s future leaders.

Allah keep our nation strong, united and prosperous.

Kisses to you, Nigeria.

Your Thoughts

Express Your Thoughts

Copyright

© Umm Sulaim’s Thoughts 1439/ 2017. All rights reserved.

Love from Nigeria to the world.

Discussions And Concerns

Enjoy The Thoughts

