Umm Sulaim's Thoughts

Thoughts Lead To Appreciation

HAVE A HEART FOR MY ABDUCTED GIRLS

The abduction of my girls, on the night of Thursday April 14, 2014, from their school in Chibok located in Borno State has pitted Nigerians against one another.

Is calling attention to the crisis a grave felony against the Federal Republic of Nigeria?

Does the demand for speedy rescue of my girls constitute an unpatriotic stance that warrants insults and defamation of character?

Yes, there is much we still are unaware of concerning circumstances surrounding the abduction.

However, one point all of us must assert is that a large number of girls were abducted that night. That is sufficient to enliven compassionate hearts.

I remember the devastating famine in Ethiopia and watching on television starving fellow children.

Some good-hearted persons must have raised the alarm and there came global support with its epicentre at the USA For Africa with Michael Jackson and Friends.

That year I turned nine years old. Every time I heard the name Ethiopia it was for children dying of starvation.

Six years later, I met a young boy who introduced himself as an Ethiopian. Famine, I thought.

When my Ethiopian friend showed me a photograph of his biological family, I realised he was one of the children saved at the height of the famine.

Did he not miss his family? In the photograph, he might have been seven or eight years of age. He must have memories of his family.

My thoughts I kept personal and did ask him any questions.

Through our interactions, I learnt he lived with his adoptive mother.

She was a loving British woman whose home was decorated with multiple children, biological and adopted from various continents.

Indeed, we are the world and we belong to humanity for the love and empathy we extend to persons unattached to us through the womb, ethnicity, race, or background.

Cynics of the crisis at Chibok and elsewhere in the region should rest assured that if ethnicity were in play in the galvanization of Nigerians and foreigners towards the freedom of my girls, I for one will have nothing to do with the project.

The ethnicities to which either Boko Haram or my abducted girls are affiliated are neither identical to mine nor compatible with my lifestyle.

The heartache many of us experience over the plight of my girls is of pure humanity.

We make a change in events not by denials of the occurrence of a calamity but rather by exploring our own humanity.

I stand with my abducted girls.

Your Thoughts

Copyright

© Umm Sulaim’s Thoughts 1438/ 2017. All rights reserved.

Express Your Thoughts

Discussions And Concerns

Enjoy The Thoughts

