Umm Sulaim's Thoughts

Thoughts Lead To Appreciation

EID AL-ADHHA: Perspectives

As-Salam alaykum waRahmatuLlah waBarakatuH. (Greetings of Peace, Mercy and Blessings of Allah.)

My dearest akada,

To celebrate the last Eid of the year, I review the year’s achievements.

1 Eid Al-Adhha: Perspectives

In particular, I praise Allah, AlHamduliLlah, for His Rahmah.

Allah has been my Guide against odds.

Allah has strengthened me when many Muslims would have preferred me to bear and justify exploitation.

My akada will recall a couple of publications some weeks ago that analyzed the harassment from my ex-spouse.

A link to the first of the publications, My Abusive, Marauding Ex-Husband Returns, was sent to my family and friends.

My family’s response was silence. There was nothing to say.

It was clear from the article I was not about to open myself to further cruelty in order to get to Jannah.

As with a significant number of non-Muslims, my family are well aware of the mentality of the average Muslim woman who deludes self she needs to endure mistreatment to be eligible for Jannah.

There was no need for my family to question my sense of right and wrong.

Abuse is an injustice, as is the reception of the abuser.

My family were not concerned I was yet another Muslim woman forever under the oppressive feet of a man.

The response of Muslims was mixed. Some were encouraged they could live their life without fear of anyone except Allah.

As expected, there were some Muslims, including those in my neighbourhood, who were outraged at my rejection of any private communication with my abusive former husband.

I throw their fury right in their face. Burn in your rage.

So, I dedicate this Eid to every woman and girl anywhere on this planet of ours who does not want to be a victim.

There is no reason for you to tolerate any form of abuse.

Eid Mubarak.

Allahumma taqabbal minni waminkum. (May Allah accept my obedience and yours).

The one and only,

Umm Sulaim

Your Thoughts

Information

This entry was posted on October 15, 2013 by in Joy, Spirituality and tagged , .

Copyright

© Umm Sulaim’s Thoughts 1439/ 2017. All rights reserved.

Love from Nigeria to the world.

Discussions And Concerns

Enjoy The Thoughts

