Umm Sulaim's Thoughts

Thoughts Lead To Appreciation

UNUSUAL HAUSA-FULANI GIRL

Earlier this morning, I thought it best to be nice to a Hausa-Fulani female guest in my premises.

I do not approve of her actions, I affirmed silently. But, she is still a human being, if nothing else.

When her friend arrived later and the noise level increased, I protested as usual.

I do not tolerate being disturbed.

At the last protest, a voice responded: Auntie sorry (in Hausa).

The apology was sufficient to melt my heart.

When the power supply was resumed, I heard a voice at my window.

In astonishment, I turned towards the window while attempting to cover my body as I was in a state of undress.

It was the same voice that had apologised earlier.

She wanted to verify the resumption of electricity supply.

Normally, for a number of reasons, I do not encourage unsolicited visitors to approach my windows or door.

However, as she was unfamiliar with my rules I thought to pardon her.

Moreover, she might merely have repeated the behaviour of my neighbour who late last night came to inform me there would be some noise.

This evening, I came out to spread some laundry and as the young woman lay directly under the clothes line, I asked her to move.

She offered to assist me to spread the clothes elsewhere.

I chose to spread the clothes on my windows rather than insist she leave.

Before entering my home, I turned to ask for her name.

Her response: No English.

I had a very good laugh and repeated the question in Hausa, a language I have refused to learn and as a matter of principle do not use in my communications.

This is the first time in a long while I have met a genuinely polite Hausa-Fulani girl.

May Allah guide her aright and rectify her life. Aameen.

6 comments on “UNUSUAL HAUSA-FULANI GIRL

  1. Abdurrahman Islaam
    January 9, 2014

    Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah. By Allah I’m honestly amazed at your seemingly unending Hausa\Fulani bashing. I can understand that you might have had some bad experiences with them but to be making such wanton generalizations is excruciating. Remember that Prophet Muhammad(Sallalahu alaihi Wassalam) staunchly warned us promoting Asabiyya, partisanship, ethnicity, racism, etc. This only seeks to reinforce stereotypes and sow the seeds of enmity between muslims. May Allah guides us(Ameen). Wassalam Alaikum.

    • Umm Sulaim
      January 9, 2014

      Welcome to my world.

      Perhaps you wish to only notice my criticisms of Hausa-Fulanis.

      Have you not observed my condemnations of my own people Ndi Igbo, here and on Facebook?

      Islam forbids tribalism. Muslims who are tribalists receive criticism on this site.

      My writings address real issues and cultures of Muslims.

      Wa alaykas-Salam.

      The one and only,

      Umm Sulaim

  2. Abdurrahman Islam
    January 9, 2014

    Reinforcing stereotypes defeats the very purpose of Islamic brotherhood; from natural born idiots to obnoxious folks etc. Real issues are addressed in the spirit of respect. I first came across your blog yesterday night and the one pattern I noticed was your disdain and sheer contempt for the said ethnic-group. I wouldn’t have condoned that attitude toward ANY other ethnic group.
    The undertone prime-moved me to comment. I wish not to stimulate an argument but rather to caution and admonish on what is right. May Allah guide you and me. I live you in peace.

    • Umm Sulaim
      January 9, 2014

      Islamic brotherhood begins with shedding one’s tribal sentiments.

      When one does that, one will make wider and objective observations.

      I respect those who perceive issues the way they are.

      Allah criticised the Quraish. Those Aayaat are part of the Qur’an till date. Same with the Messenger of Allah, yet he was a Quraish.

      Although the Quraish later became Muslims, those Aayaat and Ahadeeth were not abrogated. We still read them to learn from them.

      Only when Muslims perceive what is wrong within own community can they acknowledge and address those problems. Labelling them stereotypes do not change the reality on the ground.

      The one and only,

      Umm Sulaim

  3. Abdurrahman
    January 9, 2014

    I won’t argue further since you’re content that your attitude is in tune with Islamic principles. Wassalam.

    • Umm Sulaim
      January 9, 2014

      I, once again, point out that Umm Sulaim’s Thoughts is not a website where Muslims copy and paste the Qur’an and Sunnah without dealing with real and contemporary issues that Muslims face.

      Here, discussions have taken different topics Muslims would rather keep under the carpet, from a woman’s sexuality to circumcision to the rights of a Muslim.

      Despite pressure to adopt the format of lip-service to Islam, I will maintain the uniqueness of this website.

      The one and only,

      Umm Sulaim

Your Thoughts

Information

This entry was posted on September 21, 2013 by in Northern Nigeria and tagged , , .

Copyright

© Umm Sulaim’s Thoughts 1438/ 2017. All rights reserved.

Express Your Thoughts

Discussions And Concerns

  • It was with shock and sadness I read of the demise of Danbaba Danfulani Suntai, former Taraba Governor, who... fb.me/20u68dPJS (The one and only) 12 hours ago
  • I am the Engineer! I have just fixed my delinquent laptop DVD Drive, after adjusting the jumper. Previously, I... fb.me/33bZebyZG (The one and only) 20 hours ago
  • Some guys who have no relevance and values came out to issue a warning that Igbo should leave the North. ~>Aliko Dangote (The one and only) 21 hours ago

Donations

**Support my writings on religious freedom, women’s liberty and children’s rights by donating on PayPal to sulaim[dot]umm[at]gmail[dot]com**

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Enjoy The Thoughts

