Umm Sulaim's Thoughts

Thoughts Lead To Appreciation

TO LIVE AND NOT TO DIE FOR

The widespread perception is that a Muslim is necessarily a republican; the most commonly quoted uniting principle being the anti-abortion stance.

The proof of the Sharee’ah’s position against abortion is deduced from the Aayaat (Verses) of the Qur’an which ban the murder of ones children – the context was the prohibition of the practice of killing of daughters at birth – and that analogy is valid.

There is, however, a contradiction in practice among some Muslims.  In certain communities, the murder of a woman or girl is a rite of passage.  Yet, members of these societies rant about abortion.  They disregard the implication of the Clear Text of the Qur’an and entangle themselves in an analogy.  Ridiculous!

It is well known that men do not bear a pregnancy.  In communities where women present themselves as irrelevant and victims of the society, men are not found in labour wards, experiencing the pangs of childbirth.

Previously, I was determined that given the opportunity, I would live among these communities of Muslims to discover whether women were so irrelevant that men give birth to their own offspring.  I have since had a change of mind, primarily because of my reluctance to be driven crazy.  It is bad enough listening to them.  I do not want to live among them as well.

I have wondered why women concerned do not defend their daughters against harm.  Women who do not protect self against harm can not be expected to defend other, least of all a child of no apparent consequence.

A Muslim is both pro-life and pro-choice.  But only those who value their lives can make a choice to defend the life of a child, born and unborn.

I live and I choose that any child of mine must live.

TO LIVE AND NOT TO DIE FOR

9 comments on “TO LIVE AND NOT TO DIE FOR

  1. Wilbert Louwers
    August 15, 2012

    My deepest respect for your choice. And thanks God/Allah you are able to make that choice. My general perception of the Muslim belief is that your Koran is full of wisdom (as the Bible) but if you take every sentence litterally (as some parts of other Holy Books) you return to the society 1200- 3000 years back and what was just and customarily right in those days. The Law System of Shari’a (as just as it was in the day’s when introduced). No longer reflects a 21th century society. The way Arabs lead Spain through the Dark Middle Ages (as we call 700-1400AD in our calendar) was of an extremely high scientific, architectural and agricultural level. Nowadays your Islamic and also the colture of India seems stagnant becouse of their unalterable roots. I so much respect your culture and like to welcome you all into the developement of a New World order where there is “A world that works for everyone” Thank you that you are part of my world. With love and respect, Wilbert Louwers.

    • Umm Sulaim
      August 15, 2012

      My apologies my first response failed to append to yours.

      I wish to briefly add that every word of the Qur’an is taken literally and in context. Anyone who solely relies on the literal part has missed the mark.

      Umm Sulaim

  2. Umm Sulaim
    August 15, 2012

    Thank you so much Wilbert.

    Your observations are right on the mark.

    If you go to my facebook profile http://www.facebook.com/UmmSulaimIT and view my profile picture you will agree that I have already made a similar observation. In fact, that is part of the reason my position differs from that of the average Muslim: Islam is development. And on this point, I disagree with you.

    If some Muslims choose to allow their cultural practices obscure their scientific advancement, Islam has no blame in that. You need to blame the culture and not Islam; another point of conflict between Muslims and me.

    I suggest you subscribe to either my facebook account or follow me on twitter http://www.twitter.com/Umm_Sulaim to fully appreciate my position and that of Islam.

    You are most welcomed to my world.

    Umm Sulaim

  3. Isa Baba
    August 21, 2012

    I subscribe to your choice, but it is also pertinent to note that Islam is a total, uncompromising,superior way of life.

    • Umm Sulaim
      August 21, 2012

      Welcome Isa.

      Can you indicate to us any word or statement in any of my posts that implies Islam is not a superior way of life?

      Being a Muslim means we make a conscious choice to obey Allah – which is what I did in this article – and do not simply abide by cultural practices of picking which part of Islam to adhere.

      Umm Sulaim

  4. Pingback: THE LANGUAGE COMPLEX « Umm Sulaim's Thoughts

  5. Pingback: THERE IS NO PARTY AS THE REPUBLICAN « Umm Sulaim's Thoughts

  6. Pingback: THE FIGHT AGAINST THE EDUCATION OF WOMEN AND GIRLS « Umm Sulaim's Thoughts

  7. Pingback: THE SAUDI ARABIAN HONEY. Part One: Jealous Cravings | Umm Sulaim's Thoughts

Your Thoughts

Information

This entry was posted on August 13, 2012 by in Thoughts, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Copyright

© Umm Sulaim’s Thoughts 1438/ 2017. All rights reserved.

Express Your Thoughts

Discussions And Concerns

Donations

**Support my writings on religious freedom, women’s liberty and children’s rights by donating on PayPal to sulaim[dot]umm[at]gmail[dot]com**

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Enjoy The Thoughts

